Book Review + Meet The Characters – Black Beauty by Constance Burris

bb.jpg

Black Beautyunnamed

Author: Constance Burris
Publication Date: July 7th 2015
Publisher: Self-Published 
Format: eARC/Paperback
Genre: Young adult | Fantasy | Horror

I received this book for free  in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Summary from Goodreads:

At Vista Apartment Complex, life drastically changes for few of its residents when they decide to do business with Crazy Jade—the supposed voodoo witch that can grant your wish, for a price.

Shemeya wants the confidence to stand up against the girls bullying her at school, but she soon has to choose between keeping her dreadlocs or living a normal life. After catching her boyfriend cheating, Latreece just wants to have the same curves as all the other girls. Ashley will do whatever she can to have “White Girl Flow”, but takes her pursuit too far when she steals from Crazy Jade.

Everyone who comes into contact with Crazy Jade soon learns the true price of her magic—and how horribly wrong it can go.

BLACK BEAUTY takes the reader on a journey through the point of view of five residents of Vista Apartment Complex, and how each of their horrors crash together in ways they could never have expected



Purchase Links: 

AmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository


Meet the Characters of Black Beauty

Shemeya

I relate to her the most. Like me she has dreadlocks. There is a bit of misconception that woman with natural hair aren’t as into their looks as ladies with relaxers/straight hair. But that’s a lie, we are just as vain as women with relaxed hair. Shemeya proves she is vain and unnaturally attached to hair when she is hesitates to choose between cutting her hair or having a normal live.

Granny

Granny is based on my mother. I have five siblings and bus load of nieces and nephews, and they all go hard for my mother. Through Granny (and to a lesser degree a woman named Cora) I show how important grandmothers are. The mother and daughter relationship can be pretty complicated, but the grandmother and grandchild relationship is nothing but pure love and affection.

Andre

Andre is partly based on my brother. He had the tallest box (hightop fade) and he would spend a butt load of time in the morning slathering it with hair gel and combing it with a pick.

Latreece

Like Latreece my daughter is skinny… and when Nicki Minaj dropped the that song about thick girls, she immediately felt ugly. And since I’ve been on the chunky side my entire life, I was completely confused… CONFUSED. Because, for me, the goal was always to be skinny. This showed me it ain’t always greener on the other side, and Latreece proves this.

Ashley

I used to work with a white girl at Burger King. She loved her some dark meat. Once she told me she wanted to have mixed kids because she wanted them to have good hair. I said “oh,” but I was thinking ‘I’ve seen plenty of mixed kids with hair of wool’.


my review

This book follows a woman who they called ‘Crazy Jade’ because they said that she is a witch or a voodoo priestess whom they even more believed because of her light skin, brown freckles and her nappy hair. They even said that she curses people. Even though she said that she isn’t like that, they still get scared of her and don’t believe her. She also has a five-year-old son named Coal.

I didn’t really focus on the synopsis of the book and completely forgotten what was the book all about so in the Table of Contents of the book, I don’t get it why it has more names and only got three chapters of the book. Which turned out that it gets us to know more about the characters and their story: Shemeya, Ashley, Andre, Latreece, Sean, Galena, Chalcedony, and Coal and of course ‘Crazy Jade’.

I like this book because it gets us to read more characters, story on why did he or she have that thing or outcome plus I like the author’s style of writing. You can easily grasp the plot and understand what was happening.

It’s my first time reading this kind of genre and so thankful that I got to read this book. I think it’s a great way for readers to get into the ‘horror genre’.

 

Image result for horror reaction gif atmosphere

I also believe that this book is just the beginning, of course, of those upcoming books in this series, that will show and focus more on Jade’s son Coal and his story and adventure on living in a fey realm as a human.

I gave this book 3.5 stars, I enjoyed reading it and I like reading books that involves witches or that has something to do with magic. 🙂

So if you’re looking for some light and fast read book or if you want to start reading some book that will fall into some horror genre that you’ll enjoy, this is the book for you guys! 🙂

 


RATING:

image


unnamed (1)About the Author :

Constance Burris is on a journey to take over the world through fantasy, horror, and science fiction. Her mission is to spread the love of speculative fiction to the masses. She is a proud blerd (black nerd), mother, and wife. When she is not writing and spending time with her family, she is working hard as an environmental engineer in Oklahoma City.


Author Links:

 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png 


 

mayric2

Leave a Reply

