Book Review – ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson

89w.jpg

’89 Walls

Author: Katie Pierson
Publication Date: June 5th 2015
Publisher: Wise Ink
Format: Paperback 
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary | Romance | Historical Fiction | Realistic Fiction

I received this book for free  in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Summary from Goodreads:

College is not in the cards for Seth. He spends his minimum wage on groceries and fakes happiness to distract his mom from the MS they both know will kill her. It’s agony to carry around a frayed love note for a girl who’s both out of his league and beneath his dignity.

Quinn’s finishing high school on top. But that cynical, liberal guy in her social studies class makes her doubt her old assumptions. Challenging the rules now, though, would a) squander her last summer at home, b) antagonize her conservative dad, and c) make her a hypocrite.

Seth and Quinn’s passionate new romance takes them both by surprise. They keep it a secret: it’s too early to make plans and too late not to care. But it’s 1989. As politics suddenly get personal, they find themselves fighting bare-fisted for their beliefs—and each other—in the clear light of day.



Purchase Links: 

Amazon Barnes & Noble Audible  Book Depository 


143722793653405 (1)


 

First of all, thank you Ms. Katie Pierson for sending me a copy of your book in exchange for an honest review.


’89 Walls is about two teenagers that have different political background wherein Seth is in the Democratic Party and Quinn comes from the Republican Party. They have different political beliefs that they had a debate sometimes in their class.

Seth Burton comes from a poor family. His father died when he was still a child and her mother has MS that makes it harder for them.

I think that Seth being a Democrat gives him more privilege to speak up about his political beliefs and what I like about him is that every time he speaks in class he knows what he’s saying.

Quinn has her own perception or opinion regarding some matters, although she was raised in the Republican Party. I believe I can consider her wealthy based on what I’ve imagined in the book, on how she talks, act, etc.

I like it how Seth and Quinn compete against each other in their class in order to support or to defend their own beliefs. 🙂

I also like their ‘getting to know each other stage’. I found it so cute like on how they greet each other wherein someone has to greet that person first and when they simply hold each other hand.

Another one is Mr. Levine. He’s the teacher who asks questions about something that happened in their history before. What I like about him is that he accepts and respected each and everyone’s opinion. That he himself gives his own opinion too about that particular topic.

The cover really attracts my attention. It’s simple yet so gorgeous and like the author, it has my favorite colors on it too. ❤

I think ’89 walls, suits the title very well because there are so many things that happen in 1989, one of these is the end of cold war.

For me, the dialogue is easy to understand, but of course there are some parts of the book that I can’t relate to what are they saying especially on that political kind of conversation.
But just keep reading and reading and soon you’ll get it. 🙂


Now let’s talk and go into the Abortion part. I, myself, have this 50-50 opinion with it. In my country, Philippines, abortion is illegal. Although there are some senators or just some people who gave some Proposals. Most especially the ‘RH Bill’.

I think you have heard the ‘RH Bill’ or the Reproductive Health Law. It is a law in our country, Philippines, which agrees to have universal access to methods on contraception, sexual education, fertility control, and maternal care (includes abortion) but have always been opposed by the Catholic Church. That as much as possible the Elders taught us how to be responsible in such things.

My grandmother was one of those people who supports the ‘RH Bill’. She said that it will be good for the people and in our country also. For me, I think that in some way it is good because there are some people who aren’t yet ready to raise their children.

All in all I gave this book 3.5 stars.  It’s my first time reading a book that has aborted and political aspects of it, but I enjoyed reading it and in some way I learned some events and what impact did it give to the people.

Plus! I really appreciated the hard work of Katie Pierson in writing this book that she really did some research and she even included a glossary and a 1989 timeline in the back pages of the book which help us readers to fully understand some terms. 🙂

You should definitely check this one out. ❤

 


“quotes”

I like people who cry over books. It makes me trust them.” – Tom, Quinn’s father

Maybe I’m even the coward who left early so she wouldn’t get left behind. But at the end of the day, I’ve raised a good man.” –Debra Winger, Seth’s mom

Personal freedom is everything.Tom, Quinn’s father

When you raise a nice girl, you like her. You want to keep her around. – Tom, Quinn’s father


RATING:

https://yooheereadsinneverland.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/wpid-three-half-stars.png?w=809


Katie PiersonAbout the Author :

Katie Pierson

I freelance for local non-profits, using my background in public policy and grassroots organizing to overthrow the patriarchy one introverted step at a time. When I’m not writing fiction, I return library books, make soup, and try to be cooler than I really am by hip-hopping at the YMCA.

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in American History from the University of Pennsylvania (where I dabbled briefly in being a College Republican) and a Master’s in American History from the University of Minnesota. I grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska, and now live with my partner and two daughters in a suburb of Minneapolis. I’m a member of SCBWI, MNSCBWI and the Authors Guild.


Author Links:

  photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png


 

mayric2

3 thoughts on “Book Review – ’89 Walls by Katie Pierson

Leave a Reply

