Book Review – A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

amma.jpg

A Million Miles Away18484795 (1)

Author: Lara Avery
Publication Date: July 7th 2015
Publisher: Poppy 
Format: eARC
Genre: young adult | contemporary | romance

I received this book for free  in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Summary from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.

When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the tragedy is Michelle’s boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can’t bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.

As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can’t deny that she’s falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn’t want.



Purchase Links: 

AmazonBarnes & NobleAudible


my review

( I ORIGINALLY POSTED IT AT NOBSBOOKREVIEWS 😀 )

First of all, this is one of my most anticipated books this year. After reading the synopsis, it really hooked me up. Plus, it says there for the fans of Nicholas Sparks so~

So, anyway, onto the review. If you didn’t know that Michelle died from a car accident who would have thought that Kelsey (her twin) was just pretending to be her, right?

I know that many readers will be upset that Kelsey did that, but I personally understand why she did. She was just trapped with the situation,  knowing that Peter was sent to Afghanistan on his mission, and seeing/talking to her (thinking that she is Michelle) is the only reason that keeps him going.

I didn’t have problems with Kelsey, maybe because her character felt real to me. Her sufferings made me sad, and her happiness that made me smile. She is such a lovely person for me. 🙂

The same goes for Peter, I loved his personality. He’s simple, sweet, very charming and brave that he chose to be a soldier wherein he set aside his safety just to fight and to protect many people.

Then there’s Michelle. Aside from being Kelsey’s identical twin sister, they were both different. She loves painting and everything that goes along with that. (Her parents also think that she’s more responsible than Kelsey.)

Lastly, there’s Davis, Kelsey’s ex-boyfriend. I kinda like him, but often times I was so irritated with him. He’s taking things easily which is for me is a 50-50. For example, they fought with each other, then later on he’d go back to the “sweet” cycle, and pretend like nothing happened. The thing is, the problem wasn’t solved.

For me, the title ‘A Million Miles Away’ really suits the story. It’s not just because that they were miles apart, but because of the reality itself.

The cover was okay; I liked the font that they used and the grayish effect. Plus it does have some emotional feels 🙂

The pacing of the book is great also; It wasn’t too fast, and it wasn’t too slow. Plus there aren’t too many minor plot details on the story, so it’s easy to also understand the characters’ dialogue. 🙂

My favorite character in this story is Kelsey. Not just because that she’s the main character; I really think that her role/character here had an impact. As I mentioned earlier, there will be some readers who wouldn’t understand or like her pretending, but ask yourself ‘what if’?

What if you are on her position, and you just knew that your sister’s boyfriend was deployed on some mission, and that he’s fighting against some notorious group of people? Would you just tell him ‘Hey, I’m Kelsey! Michelle’s twin sister and I want you to know that she died in a car accident’?

You probably wouldn’t right? It’s because you are worried about him.

What if you told him and he can’t accept it, then suddenly there are a group of people attacking them and he didn’t have his wits about him?

So I do understand Kelsey for doing that, and for keeping him sane in some way. Yes, she lied, and that lie made up another lie, and another lie, until she couldn’t handle herself, or her heart–she was falling for him. ❤

(Haha, my heart. So yeah, I’m being blown away thinking about it while writing this review. :D)

So the synopsis said ‘For the fans of Nicholas Sparks’ which is true.  However, I’d say that the concept is like DEAR JOHN. (Although I haven’t read that book yet, I’ve watched the movie and I freaking love it! Well, of course I cried. Given that it’s written by Nicholas Sparks. 🙂

Dear John and A Million Miles Away were completely different, BUT THEY BOTH CONVEY WONDERFUL MESSAGES. ❤ 🙂

I gave this book 4 stars. I’m pleased to say that I enjoyed reading this book, and it was so engrossing that I lost track of time. 🙂

And without further ado, you should definitely check this one out. 🙂 ❤


RATING:

image


mayric2

2 thoughts on “Book Review – A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery

Leave a Reply

