Book Review – Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

tbs

tbs

Twenty Boy Summer

Author: Sarah Ockler
Publication Date: June 01, 2009
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Reader
Format: Ebook (.ePub)
Genre: young adult | contemporary | romance


Summary from Goodreads:

“Don’t worry, Anna. I’ll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it.” “Okay.” “Promise me? Promise you won’t say anything?” “Don’t worry.” I laughed. “It’s our secret, right?”

According to Anna’s best friend, Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy every day, there’s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there’s something she hasn’t told Frankie–she’s already had her romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.explores what it truly means to love someone, what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every beautiful moment life has to offer.


 goodreads


Purchase Links:

Amazon | Book Depository | iBooks


my review

Since summer is coming, my friend and I decided to read this book and when I’ve finally gotten a chance to read the synopsis, I was like…

Kristoff_I'm_gonna_cry

So basically this book is all about Anna, her bestfriend Frankie and their summer trip. Wherein Anna still grieves the death of her bestfriend’s brother and her boyfriend Matt. But the thing is no one knew that they had a relationship or that they were together. So Frankie’s family take some trip to California where they used to spend there summer vacation when Matt was still alive. Anna goes with them and she always carry along her journal where she put all of her emotions and where she talks to Matt by means of writing.

The personalities of each of the characters of this book were really great. You can really point out and see their perspectives.

Matt is very charming for me and to keep feelings for a girl whom you liked for about years now and didn’t tell her because you don’t want to risk your friendship, such a nice guy! 🙂

Then Sam Macintosh, at first I thought that Sam will just be one of the guys that’s gonna be counted into the 20 boys list, but then as the story goes on I’ve known Sam and liked him. He’s such a cute guy and very gentleman, so obviously he’s not the type of guy whose so eager to kiss you, touch you or some jerk-ass out there. He’s also a gregarious type of person that would enjoy your company and would even ride your trip. 🙂

My favorite character of this book is Anna Reiley. She’s simple, sweet and her actions for every part of the book felt real. I mean if I were on her shoes, I think I would do and think the same way. Her thoughts were just so fascinating and really relatable. 🙂

GIF--Approve-Approval-Like-Likes-Awesome-Nice-one-Good-one-thumbs-up-Emma-Stone-GIF

The only character that got into my nerves here was Frankie Perino, Anna’s bestfriend. For me, Frankie is such a self-centered person. She’s also impulsive who tends to do things suddenly and without carefully thinking on what can be the outcome of it.  She so immature. Yeah I really do have a great problem with her. :/

Katherine_Pierce

So into the setting of this book, I super love that it takes place mostly at the beach. With the waves travelling towards the shore, birds flying above the beach area and watching the sunrise and sunset. Such a romantic scenery right? I’m a huge sucker for romance so definitely it is!

To tell you honestly guys, I even thought that it can have a VERY HUGE PLOT TWIST wherein Matt didn’t die from the car accident and he’ll just gonna show up out of the blue then its gonna be a love triangle. Crazy imagination right??? Hahaha 😀 Tell me yours booknerds at the comments section! 🙂

Twenty Boy Summer as the title of the book gives you a little bit of what the book is all about which is good and it suits the storyline. The cover! I know that it’s so gorgeous but don’t let it deceive you! Haha 🙂

It’s an emotional book that will definitely touch your heart. This book makes me cry while reading it. Given the fact that I’m a shallow tear person. I cried in some chapters of the book because I also felt their pain, agony, sorrow, or whatever you wanna call it.

I know what it feels to lost someone whom you really love and treasure the most. The fact that you won’t be able to see them smiling, to hear them laughing, and being able to touch or hug them. Its sad but its the truth, and we really need to accept to be able to let go and move on with our lives.

This is the first book that I have read that was written by Sarah Ockler and she truly captivated me by this book. I even searched ALL of her books and added it to my TBR list. She’s been now one of my auto buy authors! 🙂

So I’m recommending you this book no matter what genre you read because it’s not only about grief of a lost one but it’s also about other relationship like friendship and family. 🙂


Have you already read this book? Why not take… 

The Twenty Boy Summer Quiz!

P.S. I’m not the one who created it, I just found it on Goodreads. 🙂


quotes

“I’m fine, thanks for not asking.” ― Sarah Ockler, Twenty Boy Summer

“Nothing ever really goes away–it just changes into something else. Something beautiful.” ― Sarah Ockler, Twenty Boy Summer

“When someone you love dies, people ask you how you’re doing, but they don’t really want to know. They seek affirmation that you’re okay, that you appreciate their concern, that life goes on and so can they. Secretly they wonder when the statute of limitations on asking expires (its three months, by the way. Written or unwritten, that’s about all the time it takes for people to forget the one thing that you never will).” ― Sarah Ockler, Twenty Boy Summer

“Sweetheart, when you say Matt’s name, you have the same look in your eyes that he’d get whenever he’d say yours.” ― Sarah Ockler, Twenty Boy Summer

“Don’t move, Anna Reiley. Right now, everything is perfect.” Sarah Ockler, Twenty Boy Summer


RATING:

image


2188726

About the Author :

Sarah Ockler is the bestselling author of young adult novels, including #scandal, The Book of Broken Hearts, Bittersweet, Fixing Delilah, and the critically acclaimed Twenty Boy Summer, a YALSA Teens’ Top Ten nominee and Indie Next List pick. Her latest, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, hits the shelves in June 2015.

Sarah is a champion cupcake eater, coffee drinker, night person, and bookworm. When she’s not writing or reading at home in Washington, she enjoys taking pictures, hugging trees, and road-tripping through the country with her husband, Alex.


 

mayric2

2 thoughts on “Book Review – Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

  1. My TBR pile just gets bigger and bigger. Sounds like a great summer read. I usually don’t read by season but for some reason I’m in the mood for some summery reads. This is such a cute theme.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

